On body movement
by Dominique Barbéris

Bernadette Kelly demonstrates a certain finesse that Baudelaire called ‘l’art d’évoquer les minutes heureuses’: a flair for capturing moments of contentment. Her long, narrow studio is a timeless oasis of calm; its shelves are lined with books; its chaotic disposition of chairs and tables inspires reflection; the room contains the remains of time. These features are brought to life in the artist’s works. In her most recent depictions, Kelly gives prominence to deep blue hues reminiscent of Poussin, and to ochres, greys, and purplish reds. Her creations recall Maurice Denis: we find the same body movements, similar shades of grey and pink, and a shared apathy towards all that is finite.

A lamp in a corner casts light upon teapots and cups; the same lamp illuminates a figure in one of Kelly’s latest works: a man reading, sprawled upon a chaise longue, his legs stretched out. He appears unfolded, such is the feeling of relaxation we sense. In the artist’s studio, we come across a small blue table: bottles stand on it in a nod to Morandi’s still-life oeuvres. Another portrayal focuses on a younger man; in one of its corners we observe the same bottle-laden table. The man is dreaming, his reverie fixed on past lovers whose bodies recline on the left. Many of Kelly’s works are rectangular, more wide than tall. They read like frescoes telling stories. The smallest are preparatory pieces or sketches: these capture youthful figures; women painted tirelessly, their guilelessly sensual forms bathing, sleeping, dreaming or twisted into intriguing positions. For example, we find a woman drowsing, her pale thighs draped in a black-lace nightdress. The artist’s larger depictions blend bodies and space: for instance, an extensive, smoke-filled café taken up by the broad, round, white face of a Chinese waitress carrying a tray.

Kelly’s smile is dreamy, her lips robust, and her well-preserved youthfulness mystifying. The latter seamlessly links the former student at L’École Nationale Supérieure des Arts Décoratifs with the woman who stands before us today: she is attentively reserved, curious, and exhibits a certain frontality. This continuity, atmospheric or subject-related, is discernible in the artist’s oeuvre. In one of her older pieces, we observe figures on La Baule beach, bent over, looking for cockles. The work is filled with geometric lines, dark shades, browns, and greens. In the foreground, two children lie down. They appear exhausted. The bright white triangle of a pair of underpants dazzles on their horizontal lines.

In a later oeuvre, a polyptych, the sea is depicted again: here it forms the backdrop to carefree scenes from a trip to northern Brazil. However, the sea’s colour is different this time. The style has changed too: we find more faded tones and ochres; the atmosphere is airy and windy; there is that disjointed feel of an unfinished jigsaw. Children play with a ball while others sleep; tall teenagers with round, childlike bellies and loose hair hold an inaudible gathering; bodies float in the large, turquoise swimming pool whose fragments underlie the artwork.

The same pieces of turquoise water hide on the right-hand side of another oeuvre, to the rear, in a secret, paradisiac nook where a tree-lined swimming pool can be reached via a few steps. Where are we? There is a nod back to Kelly’s studio: the small, blue, bottle-laden table stands in the foreground. We are at a spa near Padua. It could be a Roman villa: tall columns dot the scene. We find ourselves among hanging violet and purple drapery where figures are arranged in a frieze. There are men dressed in red and blue gowns; they are as slender as El Greco’s saints. Unclad young ladies recall the Graces or the slim women that adorn the Villa of the Mysteries: their blonde hair, pulled up into chignons evoking Chassériau, is the same as that of Kelly’s latest muse, a young girl who was initially reticent about posing nude. In the artist’s most recent works, her figure suggests a dancer’s nape and back. We see her looking downwards slightly, enough for her blue coat lapels to reveal a bare breast (‘le temps d’un sein nu’, as Valéry wrote) and a strip of pearlescent flesh rendered with broad brushstrokes.

Baudelaire comes to mind again: he spoke of ‘nude eras’ (‘époques nues’) in allusion not just to antiquity but to that yearning for harmony between bodies, space and light. Kelly’s artwork reclaims this balance. Her characters move as the walkers, runners, athletes, and acrobats of engraving.

Although she paints the tall, ochre, red-roofed houses of Corsican villages, Kelly prefers open buildings to closed constructions. She has a penchant for an eternal, or timeless, architectural style where openness prevails; where air swirls around colonnades towering over figures who curl up, lie down or form orderly arrangements; where bodies breathe freely.

This predilection can be observed in one of Kelly’s latest oeuvres where she depicts the forest of high columns in the Palais de Tokyo in Paris. Blue shades are found in clothes, the sky’s far reaches, and the greyish marble of the pillars and floors. Rusty hues, shadows, and light clothing suggest a summer’s evening. A young red-headed girl daydreams in the foreground, her chin resting on her knees. Behind her, a woman with straight, ebony hair passes by solemnly and stiffly. A slit in her midnight-blue dress reveals a white, fleshy calf recalling the decorative characters of Minoan temples. More distantly, an indistinct figure in ankle boots wears a shorter, pale blue dress; the faces are featureless; children run around, hiding, shrinking the further away they go. The work’s sweeping depth of field covers countless stealthy passers-by. A teenager sports a grey tee-shirt and a matching pair of trousers. He crosses his legs. We cannot grasp this gesture’s tenor yet we know it must mean something. This sensual, subtle artwork appears half-remembered, as if it is keeping a secret. The oeuvre is a dance whose music has been forgotten; it invites us to rewrite a melody to accompany the ceaseless movement of bodies.

 

Dominique Barbéris

Du mouvement des corps
par Dominique Barbéris

Bernadette Kelly sait « l’art d’évoquer les minutes heureuses ». La paix de son atelier hors du temps, tout en longueur, ses bibliothèques pleines de livres, son désordre méditatif de fauteuils et de petites tables, la lente sédimentation des choses se communiquent à ses toiles, s’intègrent à leur espace réinventé, d’où ressortent (au moins dans les dernières compositions) des tons de bleu profond comme chez Poussin, des ocres, des gris, des rouges un peu violacés. On peut penser à Maurice Denis, à cause du mouvement des corps, à cause d’une certaine indifférence au fini, à cause de certains tons de gris et de rose.

Une lampe, dans un coin, éclaire des théières et des tasses, – c’est la même qui éclaire cet homme lisant, étendu, les jambes allongées sur une méridienne – on dirait presque « déplié » – tant on éprouve à le regarder un sentiment de détente: c’est l’une des dernières toiles. La petite table bleue, couverte de bouteilles à la façon de celles de Morandi, se retrouve, nature morte, dans le coin d’un autre tableau où rêve un homme plus jeune. A quoi rêve-t-il ? A ses amours anciennes dont les corps se reposent, s’étirent, sur la gauche. Beaucoup de toiles, dans un format rectangulaire, plus long que haut, se lisent comme des fresques racontant une histoire. Les plus petites, – œuvres préparatoires ou croquis – saisissent des corps jeunes, femmes inlassablement peintes, parfois ingénument lascives, le corps tordu dans des poses étranges, dormeuses, baigneuses, rêveuses. Ainsi, cette dormeuse aux cuisses pâles coupées par une nuisette de dentelle noire. Les compositions plus larges combinent ces corps dans l’espace, les associent comme dans ce café tout en profondeur, plein d’un brouillard de fumée, que domine, au premier plan, le visage rond et large, d’une matière blanche, de la jeune serveuse chinoise, un plateau à la main.

Une jeunesse préservée, un peu secrète et mystérieuse, relie l’ancienne étudiante des Arts Décoratifs, aux lèvres pleines, au sourire rêveur, et la femme qui se tient devant vous avec une sorte de frontalité, de réserve curieuse et attentive. Cette continuité d’atmosphère et de sujet se lit dans l’œuvre : ramasseuses de coques penchées sur la plage de la Baule, – c’est une toile ancienne, dominée par des lignes géométriques, des tons sombres, des marrons, des verts. Au premier plan, deux enfants allongés semblent abrutis de sommeil. Eclatant sur leurs lignes horizontales, on voit le triangle très blanc d’une culotte.

La mer encore, dans une composition plus tardive en forme de polyptique qui assemble les saynètes heureuses d’un séjour dans le nord du Brésil : mais les couleurs ont changé ; le dessin aussi, on y trouve plus de fondu, des ocres, il y a de l’aération, du vent, quelque chose de disjoint, comme sur un puzzle inachevé ; des enfants jouent au ballon, d’autres dorment, de grandes adolescentes aux ventres ronds d’enfants et aux cheveux lâchés sont arrêtées dans un inaudible colloque, des corps flottent dans la grande piscine turquoise dont les fragments cimentent la composition.

Ce sont ces mêmes carrés d’eau turquoise que l’œil découvre au terme de sa promenade au bout d’une autre toile : tout à droite, un peu en arrière, cachée, discret paradis, il y a une piscine, accessible par quelques marches, bordée d’arbres. Où sommes nous ? Clin d’œil à l’atelier, la petite table bleue chargée de bouteilles se trouve au premier plan. C’est un centre thermal près de Padoue, ce pourrait être une villa romaine : de grandes colonnes rythment la toile, des draperies violettes et pourpre y pendent, les corps s’y disposent en frise, les hommes en peignoir bleu ou rouge ont la minceur des saints du Gréco, de jeunes femmes nues rappellent les Grâces ou les femmes minces de la villa des Mystères. Leur chevelure blonde, remontée, coiffée en chignon flou, à la Chassériau, est celle de la dernière modèle du peintre, une toute jeune fille qui, au début, ne voulait pas poser nue et qui laisse deviner sur les dernières toiles, ici, un dos et une nuque de danseuse, ailleurs, fumant, un peu penchée, « le temps d’un sein nu » entre les pans bleus d’un manteau, une bande de corps nacré, peint à larges touches.

C’est Baudelaire, encore, qui me vient aux lèvres, lorsqu’il parle du souvenir de ces « époques nues » – qui ne désignent pas seulement l’antiquité ou le passé, mais lèvent en nous la nostalgie d’un accord perdu entre les corps, l’espace et la lumière. C’est cet accord qu’on trouve dans les toiles de Bernadette Kelly. Ses figures bougent : passants, coureurs, joggeurs, acrobates de l’œuvre gravée.

Même si elle peint les hautes maisons ocres à toits rouges d’un village corse, l’architecture qu’elle préfère n’est pas celle des bâtiments fermés, mais celle, intemporelle, – ou plutôt atemporelle – ouverte, des colonnades, où l’air circule, où les corps se disposent, se lovent, s’allongent, respirent.

Ainsi, la forêt de colonnes du palais de Tokyo, une de ses dernières toiles : le bleu s’y décline dans les vêtements, dans les lointains du ciel, dans le marbre grisé des colonnes et des sols. Le rouille et les ombres portées, les vêtements légers des sujets laissent deviner un soir d’été. La jeune rousse du premier plan rêve, menton sur son genou ; derrière elle, une femme passe, hiératique comme une Chorè, cheveux raides et très noirs, robe noire elle aussi (ou bleu nuit) fendue sur un de ces mollets blancs et charnus que j’ai vus aux figures des temples minoens. Derrière, profil perdu, une autre encore, – robe courte, d’un bleu très pâle, bottines ; les visages n’ont pas de traits ; des enfants courent et se cachent, au loin, de plus en plus petits, la profondeur de champ est énorme, figures furtives, ni vu ni connu. Un adolescent en gris (tee-shirt et pantalon) a les jambes croisées. On ne sait pas le sens de cette chorégraphie, mais on sait qu’il existe. Sensuelle et subtile, à demi remémorée, comme repliée sur son secret, l’œuvre ressemble à une danse dont on aurait oublié la musique, ou plutôt elle invite à la reconstituer et à la reconnaître dans l’incessant mouvement des corps.

Dominique Barbéris